Tapestry
EYFS Safeguarding and Welfare Requirement Child Protection Information and Records – Confidential Information and records about children must be held securely and only accessible to those who have a right or professional need to see them.
For further information, please visit: https://support.tapestry.info/parents-carers/#tapestry-guides

Introduction
At Kingsfield Nursery we use an online system called Tapestry to record and store all observations and assessments relating to each child. This is a safe and secure system that enables parents and carers to access their child’s learning journey at any time. They can share it with their child, family and friends at home and post any comments and photographs of their own, helping to create a fully holistic view of the child and strengthen the parent partnership.

Introduction
At Kingsfield Nursery we use an online system called Tapestry to record and store all observations and assessments relating to each child. This is a safe and secure system that enables parents and carers to access their child’s learning journey at any time. They can share it with their child, family and friends at home and post any comments and photographs of their own, helping to create a fully holistic view of the child and strengthen the parent partnership.
Tapestry Statement
The Tapestry on-line Learning Journey system is hosted on secure dedicated servers based in the UK. We are registered controllers of data with the Information Commissioner’s Office and are bound by the Data Protection Act. We are compliant with UK data protection legislation (sometimes referred to as the ‘UK DPA 2018’) and EU data protection legislation (sometimes referred to as the ‘GDPR’). Our lead supervisory authority for data protection is the UK Information Commissioner’s Office (https://ico.org.uk).


Nursery Staff
All nursery staff have DBS clearance.
• Staff use Nursery tablets to take photographs for observations.
• Staff will be allocated time at work to update journals and assess their key children’s next steps using the Nursery tablets.
• Each staff member has a secure login, which is password and pin protected. • Staff should have minimal need to work on journals at home but if they need to do so they may access Tapestry using their own device and log onto their account, which is password protected.
• Staff are not permitted to download any photographs of the children onto their own devices. If staff do work on Tapestry at home, they should be aware of any other people around them and make sure they are not overlooked. They must logout as soon as they have stopped working.
• If any member of staff suspects that their login details have been compromised in any way, they must inform the nursery managers and new login details will be created.
• Photographs stored on the tablets are deleted on a regular basis by a member of staff.
• Everything that is added to Tapestry will be added to our nursery account and can only be viewed by nursery staff that use the system and using Parents’ own log on.
• Also, it is our policy that photos or videos are not shared on social media or through other online platforms by parents or nursery staff. Any incidents where this confidentiality is broken will be dealt with very seriously and will result in access to the system being withdrawn.
• Passwords are never saved on devices used by nursery staff.
Parents
The Tapestry on-line Learning Journey system is hosted on secure dedicated servers based in the UK. All data held on our Tapestry account is owned by Child’s Play; we are registered controllers of data with the Information Commissioner’s Office and are bound by the Data Protection Act.
• Parents logging in to the system can only access their own child’s Learning Journey. This cannot be seen by other parents.
• Parents may input new observations and photos and add comments to existing observations. They do not have the necessary permission to edit existing content.
• Parents are asked to sign a consent form giving permission for their child’s image to appear in other children’s Learning Journeys, and to protect images of other children that may appear in any photos contained in their child’s Learning Journey.
• If parents withhold this consent their child is only ever photographed alone, and no shared observations are made including that child.


When Children Leave
When children move to another setting we will transfer the Tapestry account to the new setting, if they also use Tapestry. If they do not, we will give parents an opportunity to download their child’s Learning Journey. The Learning Journey will then be permanently deleted from our Tapestry account so no data on that child will remain with us once they have left.
